Jack Benny On "When Radio Was"

This forum is for discussions of the radio and television programs done by Jack Benny

Jack Benny On "When Radio Was"

Postby altfactor » Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:29 pm

Sorry I'm posting this late, but I just learned about it.

Today/tonight (February 13th) and tomorrow/tomorrow night (February 1th), "When Radio Was" will mark Jack Benny's birthday with the episode "Gracie Visits", originally broadcast in 1940.

It's being split into two parts: he first quarter-hour will be heard today/tonight; the concluding quarter-hour will air tomorrow/tomorrow night.

While "When Radio Was" is heard on many stations around the country, the best place for most people in the Eastern and Central United States to hear the show is Chicago's 50,000-watt WBBM (780 on the AM dial), whose nighttime signal can be heard across the eastern two-thirds of the country.

The first part will air at approximately 1:40 A.M. Eastern time Tuesday morning the 14th (about 12:40 A.M. Central; technically "late tonight"), while the conclusion will be heard at 1:05 A.M. Eastern time Wednesday morning the 15th (about 12:05 A.M. Central time; technically "late tomorrow night").

I don't know anyone who works for them, but I wanted to give you a heads-up.
-Joseph
altfactor
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Norwood (Boston), MA

Re: Jack Benny On "When Radio Was"

Postby telliott » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:28 pm

I didn't realize "When Radio Was" was still on. I used to listen when it was hosted by Stan Freberg, who did play his own radio show on there. I got all the Stan Freberg shows on CD. I'm a huge Freberg fan as well as Jack Benny!

Tim
telliott
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:35 pm


Return to The Jack Benny Program

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests